Oh How Ye Charms Thee

Ahh dating.  It’s such a wonderful thing.  Especially from people who haven’t learned how to communicate properly.  Here is a lovely email exchange I had with someone on Match.  We’ll call him XXX…:
 
From:  XXX..:
“XXX just winked at you!”
The email sends me his picture and profile link.
 
My Response:
“TasteForDanger just winked at you!”
I hate getting winks and would rather the guy email me.  I normally email them with 3 or 4 sentences and questions after they have sent me a wink.  In this case, I was only half interested and didn’t feel it was worth it.  Normally when guys just send me a wink or a one liner, it is usually a lost cause.  So all I did was wink back this time.
 
His Response:
“HELLO DANGER! GRRRRRRRRRR. XXX”
Being sick of putting forth much effort with these types of jackasses, I decided to respond with really nothing to say like people like him tend to do to me.  And yes, he typed all of his respones in all caps.
 
My Response:
“Hello XXX.
Martini Girl”
 
His Response:
“HI MARTINI GIRL! HOW ARE YOU SWEETHEART?”
 
My Response:
“I’m fine. Is this how you approach all profiles with your first email?”
 
His Response:
“WOW! GIVING A COMPLIMENT IS A BAD THING TO DO RIGHT FROM THE START? SORRY.”
 
My Response:
“XXX,
 
No, giving a compliment is not bad. I wasn’t aware of any compliments that you have given me. Or is “grrrrrrrr” a compliment?
 
I’m not trying to be mean or anything but a one liner like that in your first email to someone on a dating site just seems… I don’t know… not serious?
 
Usually people introduce themselves, say a little something about themselves, why my profile caught their attention, ask me questions, etc. At least the ones that are serious about dating me. Usually the ones with one liners are just looking for hook ups. I’m not saying that you are but it just been my experience and so that’s why I questioned the content of your first time email to me.
 
Martini Girl”
 
His Response:
“OK. HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN ON THIS SITE? ME? NOT LONG. AND IM SORRY IF I SAID THE WRONG THING BUT THAT WAS JUST SOMETHING I SAID TO YOU AND THAT’S THE WAY IT IS. IM NOT JUST LOOKING FOR A “HOOK UP” BUT I GUESS THE OTHER GUYS YOU’VE BEEN IN CONTACT WITH DID. I WILL LEAVE IT AT THAT K? TAKE CARE AND GOOD LUCK.
ME”
 
I just love how he signed it “me.”  He goes on to ask me questions but then says he’ll just leave it at that.  I chuckled, deleted the email and of course didn’t bother responding.  And this man is 46 years old.
 
Believe it or not I get quite a few one liner emails and exchanges like that.  Don’t get me wrong, there are men who DO write me nice emails and take the time and effort.  Those are the ones I end up talking with further in emails, IM’s, phone calls and yes even dates with some of them.
 
I’m just baffled at the ones who are like XXX.  This is suppose to be people looking for serious relationships on Match and this is how they approach their possible future one?  Maybe I was a bit hard on him but seriously, after you get a ton of these, it gets annoying.  Someone has to school them, even if I have to be the one and come across as a bitch to do so.  I mean… grrrrrr?  That is suppose to woo me?
Leave a Reply

