The Martini Girl Life

Woo!  Been keeping busy these last few days and instead of doing all separate posts, I figured I would just cram them all into one.
 
I did a major cleaning of my kitchen which had been sadly neglected by me.  Scrubbed everything down including doors, door frames, cupboards and walls bitches.  I can’t believe how nasty it can get on top of a refrigerator!  After I was done it smelled like Pine Sol threw up in my house.  I still have to clean the inside of the stove and fridge.  I plan on continuing on with this and cleaning everything room by room like this.  I use to be such a clean freak but have been slacking lately so it’s time.  Time to vacuum every nook and cranny, dust, scrub and organize it all.
 
I went and had my nails done and got them painted slut red.  Every girl should have red lipstick and nails.  I call it “putting on my attitude” and it’s time to get some of that attitude back on.  It was great seeing my friend Barb (she does my nails).  She just got back from a two week family vacation and is in dire need of girl time vacation.  We keep talking about getting together and doing something wild.  We haven’t quite decided on what yet.  I tell ya though, I’m a really, really baaaaad influence on her.  heh heh heh.  If I would have known that girl when she was single, we would be very dangerous together.  Hell, we are dangerous together now.  We went out to dinner afterwards and it was really nice.  The two of us talk all kinds of shit.  It’s worse than Sex and the City.  😉  We are nasty, naughty girls – but hey, we are fun or should I say trouble?  Barb, if you reading this, we have GOT to get away and raise some hell soon!
 
Been cooking up a storm lately.  I don’t cook much for myself since it’s just me but I can cook and do it pretty well.  Just ask my ex-boyfriends, they all loved my cooking.  I busted out the crock pot and my pork chops fell off the bone.  I made my favorite tacos which kicked ass.  Tonight I made Rigatoni and enjoyed that with some red wine.  Yummy!  But now my beautifully clean kitchen is a mess again.  It looks like a scene from an Italian movie in there!
 
Had a date as well.  Nice guy actually.  A well mannered British chap too.  It was nice to have a great conversation with the guy about anything and everything.  For some reason, I don’t normally find myself with blondes but he was a cutie too.  Not that I don’t like blondes, I just normally find myself gravitating to dark hair.  I won’t bore you with the details like I usually do but it was all positive.  So I haven’t lost all hope in the dating world yet.  haha.  Will I see him again?  I wouldn’t mind but I don’t have expectations anymore on this stuff.  I’m just going with the flow, keep moving and have fun.
 
I’m still unsure if I’ll take the road trip with my friend Michelle and her kids at this point.  Part of me wants to just go out into a different city.  I have the freedom to do this stuff and so I should take advantage of it.  The other part thinks it might be more hassle than fun with 3 kids in tow.  I don’t know yet.  I’ll play it by ear.  My friend Barb says, “Don’t do it!”  bahaha
 
Been going for walks in the evening the last few nights which have been nice.  Just trying to get some exercise and fresh air, especially after we got that rain and it cooled off a bit.  It rained a little this evening too which was nice.  I should go take a dip in the pool.  We have a pool at the end of the block which is what part of my home owners association fees go towards.  Might be nice to take a late night dip and see which weirdo neighbors are there too. 
 
I almost forgot that Generation Kill was premiering tonight on HBO.  Caught it just in time and of course I liked it.  It will be a good miniseries like I thought it would.  The actors are already fitting the bill of how I imagined them while reading the book.  HBO has updated their webpage with the focus on the show and has some really good clips on there about each of the actors and the real guys they played.  The clips are very, very cool so check them out.  And hats off to HBO for supporting the troops.  Colbert and Person are still my favs and I have to mention not only is the Actor who played Colbert cute but Colbert himself is a hottie – dayum, I wonder if he is still single?  hahaha
 
I still have some things weighing heavy on my mind too though.  So during the slow times when I’m not busy, I want to just come out of my skin.  Playing the waiting game wears on me.  Waiting drives me to do things to take my mind off of it.  However I might make rash decisions and do reckless stuff.  hahaha – not sure if that’s a good or a bad thing.  I need a cocktail.

2 Responses to “The Martini Girl Life”

  1. Rick Says:

    You can cook too? Damn, I need to move there!

    I saw Generation Kill too. Looks to be a great series. That was a riot when they were singing Minnie Riperton’s “Lovin’ You” I couldn’t stop laughing!

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    Yes that was too funny when they were singing that! Just goes to show you how boring it can get while driving a Humvee across a desert and you have to find creative and humorous ways to pass the time.

    The only down side is that I already noticed they are adding things for entertainment value that were not in the book. That’s to be expected I guess. That whole speech Person says about “lack of pussy is what fucks countries up” was never said in the book. But it is definitely the kind of thing Person would have said so it did fit and was funny.


Leave a Reply

