I Just Can't Get Enough

I’m actually surprised at how much I have been getting into the Olympics this time around.  Usually I only watch a couple of events here and there but this year I can’t get enough.  I’m not really big into sports/athletics but I must say I’m enjoying this quite a lot.  The problem is there is soooo much and you can’t see it all, let alone know what to pick, and keeping track of everything that interests me.  I’m bummed I miss the fencing because I would have liked watching that one.
 
So far the USA is in the lead with winning medals.  But now I see today that China has inched ahead of us in the medal count.
 
It was really cool watching Michael Phelps winning the gold in the Men’s 400m Individual Medley the other night.  He kicked some major boo-tay and smashed his own world record. 
 
But then to watch the men’s team relay last night!  Whoa.  USA pulls it out and kicks gold medal ass!  It was awesome to watch.  It was even more awesome to see the look on the French teams faces of astonishment and disbelief, especially after all that smack they were talking about the U.S team.  Anytime we can humiliate the Frawnch is just an extra added bonus in my book.  heh heh heh
 
Bob Costas had a great interview with President Bush as well.  I thought he answered all the questions well and I have been impressed with his visit.  There was one funny thing… at one point the President was meeting and chatting with the US volley ball girls.  One of them asked him to smack her butt (not sure if that was suppose to be for luck or something) and when she turned around and bent over he took the back of his hand and smacked her on her lower back instead of her toosh.  They both laughed.  He of course was being a gentleman since it probably isn’t a good idea for a married US President to smack a young girls booty, especially on camera.  It was too cute.
6 Responses to “I Just Can't Get Enough”

  1. heatseeker Says:

    You have too much time to sit there and become an Olympic addict! I’d change that if it was within my power and we would have another type of Olympics.

  2. Vox Says:

    The relay lead to a new catch phrase I heard in a YouTube video (that appears to have been pulled)

    “Shut the French up!”

    That is what our swimmers did – and I think it will be useful in other situations, as well 😉

  3. Martini Girl Says:

    Heatseeker – hmmmm…. now that certainly has my interest!

  4. Martini Girl Says:

    Vox – yeah seems like NBC must be totally nipping every single video clip as soon as someone posts them on YouTube if it is Olympic coverage. What Nazis.

  5. John Says:

    C’mon, Lori – admit it – you just like watching the topless male swimmers. 😉 My question – where are the topless FEMALES on the Olympics? The beach volleyball babes come pretty close!

  6. Martini Girl Says:

    You got me there John!!


Leave a Reply

