Feast For One

I was a little bit bad on my weight loss this week.  But I nipped it in the bud today and will be extra good the rest of the week till weigh in on Tuesday.  I actually treated myself to buying a T-bone steak from the grocery store for dinner tonight.  I haven’t had any steak in a long while.  I also tried a new way of making mushrooms and it was really good.  I poured the mushrooms with the sauce over the steak and also cut up some tomato slices seasoned with a little salt and pepper on the side.  Yummy and filling dinner!
 
T-bone Steak
I used meat tenderizer and followed according to the directions.  I broiled the T-bone 7 minuets on each side.  Once it was done I wrapped in foil on a plate for a few minutes so that it could rest and redistribute the juices.  That actually does make a difference in keeping your meats juicy.  I’m sure cooking on the grill would have been better but, I was too lazy to mess with the charcoal and all that crap so I broiled it and it still turned out juicy and good.
 
Garlic Mushrooms
Ingredients
1/2 cup beef broth (no-salt)
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon canola oil
5 cups mushrooms, cut quarterly (about 1 pound)
cooking spray
1/4 teaspoon red pepper, crushed
10 cloves garlic, chopped
1 pinch black pepper
2 tablespoons fresh parsley, chopped

Directions
Heat oil in a large (nonstick) skillet coated with cooking spray.
Heat over medium to high heat until hot.
Add the mushrooms, red pepper,salt and garlic into the skillet and saute for 3 minutes.
Reduce heat to medium and then add the broth and black pepper and cook for 5 minutes. (I let it cook a little longer to have it thicken a little more)
Remove from heat and then sprinkle with parsley.
4 Responses to “Feast For One”

  1. danger zone Says:

    That’s too much effort for something that will be eaten so quickly. If you fixed it for me great, by myself, well I’d rather eat plain bread. I was just eating lunch at the CG’s Mess here and I ate my lacklustre meal while these two guys at the table went to get drinks, picked a dessert and generally just fucked around in general. They were in line before me I must point out. What I mean is people treat eating a meal like some kind of significant event. So much intense preparation going into sitting down, SAVORING each bite and looking at your friend knowingly, almost telepathically, in delight at your Mexican lunch. What’s also a shambles are the fuckers who MUST sit with their friends while they eat. There was a spare seat next to me. A couple of timid Korean Soldiers were looking for a seat. I gestured to the empty seat to them. Because one of them would have been deprived of the others company they both walked away still looking in futility. How is your friends company going to make it so much enjoyable? What is there to talk about while you eat? Do you have to look at him? Nice burrito eh mate? Yeah man, choice beef!

    You know these Korean soldiers are lucky the American Army is feeding them. Yet these greedy slant eyed cunts hog the line, waste whole plates of food and worst of all eat with their mouth open. I look at them in disbelief. I shouldn’t have to wait in like behind 100 of these weaklings to eat. I should be automatically in front with other Americans. They should have to wait for whatever is left and take their soft asses and eat on the grass in the heat!!!!!!!

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    “If you fixed it for me, great.”
    “looking at your friend knowingly.”
    lolololol

    Let me guess… the mess hall serves rice with every meal to accomodate them?

  3. danger zone Says:

    No these wankers always have to eat from the menu and be exclusive. Too good to just wait in line for the food there. They must have three cheeseburgers and fries. I’d like to force feed them this greasy shit until they involuntarily excrete upon each other. I’m delaying my lunch so I have less of them to see and hear eat with their mouths open, taking multiple bites of food without having swallowed the first five bites.

  4. Martini Girl Says:

    Well I’ll take the empty seat next to you soldier. Instead of commenting on the food, I’ll just put my hand on your leg… knowingly. ;-


Leave a Reply

