And The Hits Just Keep On Coming

I had specific plans today to go out to some retail stores and see who is hiring.  I also needed to stop by another place that did have an Asst. Mgr position and wanted to catch the store manager and give her my resume in person.  She wasn’t there the last time I went.  I also needed to look at getting a new battery for my cordless phone as the one I have doesn’t last more than five minutes anymore.  And then I had a few other errands to run.
 
So…. I’m doing some online stuff for employment most of the morning.  I talked to my mom on the phone and then I realize time is getting away from me.  So I jump in the shower, get into some professional clothes, get my resumes, cover letters, etc. all in order.  Jump in the car at exactly 3pm and bam!  My car won’t start.  Just great.  I’m pretty sure it’s the battery.  It seems like I just bought one not that long ago.  But good ole Phoenix heat.  Tires and batteries have a shorter life here.
 
Thank goodness I have AAA.  That is one of the best things I ever did as a single female and purchase an annual membership with them.  They check the battery, alternator and something else (I forget the 3rd thing) and they can either jump start you or they bring a new battery out for you to purchase and they install it for you.  Great, I’m unemployed, funds are low and I have to fork out $142.79 for a new battery.  To top it off, I may miss seeing the store manager!  All dressed up and I have to wait an hour for them to get here.  I’m just praying to god it is only the battery and NOTHING else!!
 
Why??????????????
 
It’s times like this where I’m seriously really sick and tired of being single.  I’ll be 39 in a matter of days and I’m just exhausted from doing everything myself for the last 21 years.  Where the hell is my John Wayne?  Seriously.

 

6 Responses to “And The Hits Just Keep On Coming”

  1. danger zone Says:

    I’m sorry you have to endure such misfortune. You don’t deserve it. I wish I could do more to help you. I seriously hope all the woe is about to come to an end and you can turn things around.

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    Thanks baby. *tries to smile*

  3. Vox Says:

    I should leave this comment on the next post, but … no password 😉

    Come to the get-together!

    I’ll buy you a drink or two. Heck, if you get someone to drive you, we can probably get you completely toasted. 😀

  4. GrumpyBunny Says:

    Hey Lori – glad to see your blogging again!

    Sorry to read about the troubles you’re having recently. I often think of you and wonder what you’re up to, but now I can come by and see for myself.

    I’d really love to leave my job but the economy is seriously sucking right now. Best wishes to you and now that I’m praying for ya!

    (I have to say I’m pleasantly surprised by McCain’s choice for VP)

  5. Martini Girl Says:

    GrumpyBunny!!!!!!!!!

    How the hell are you chicky?? How is the hubster and doggies? I’ve missed ya! Did you ever get back to blogging again yourself? How did you find my new blog?

    Thanks for the well wishes. It bites the big one! But I’m hanging in there.

    Oh the McCain choice blew me away and I’m loving it!

  6. GrumpyBunny Says:

    Nope, not back to blogging – though I do miss it and all my bloggies!

    I was comparing host companies and must have found you through Lisa…not really remembering now – Hubster has missed you too! I kept forgetting to tell him…

    He’s been making soap for 4-5 years – perfecting his recipe for the 1st 1-2 years and now we’ve been doing craft shows for 3. HE named the company after Gypsie (gypsiedoodle.com). Not selling the stuff on-line yet, but hopefully by the end of the year. Let me know what flavor you like (and your address) and we’ll send you some stuff for your b-day). If you want.

    I had to put Gyps down in January – she was in kidney failure. In May we got Snickers (a min schnauzer) with enough energy to power the city I think…Shasta was none-too-pleased with her pesky perky new younger sister to say the least.

    Well, I best get back to lotion and label-making – we have a craft fair on this Saturday!


Leave a Reply

