Sgt. Hook Updates Us

I was thrilled to see a recent update on Sgt. Hooks blog!  It’s always a sigh of relief to see his posts after a long (but I’m sure very busy) absence from his blog while he is in Iraq.
 
As usual, we get the truth of what’s going on over there from a soldier vs. what the mainstream media will tell us or FAIL to tell us.  Positive news and making a difference.
 
Rather than just linking you to his blog post, I decided I would copy his entire post here because I thought it was really good update.  The bit about his son made me tear up a bit.  I know it has to be terribly hard for soldiers to be away from their families and the other way around.  Thank you Sgt. Hook for all you and the rest of the troops are doing.
 
Whether you are a regular reader of Hook or not, it might be nice if you drop a comment of support on his blog.  I’m sure he’ll appreciate it.
 
It’s been a long, hard, hot and dusty year and we’re all looking forward to going home in about three months. Much has changed over the past twelve months and we’re seeing a lot of promising signs around here. The Marines just recently handed over control of Anbar Provence to the Iraqis, a feat thought impossible just two years ago. Today the streets of Bagdhad are not recognizeable if compared to eighteen months ago. I recently went out with my Soldiers on a CLP supporting Iraqi Security Forces near Tikrit where we had to pick up a dozen 20 foot Sea/Land containers from the Iraqi compound and convoy them to a new location. While security was tight and everyone performed their duties as trained, the greatest enemy we faced that day was the brutally scorching 120 plus degree heat.

As we loaded the last of the containters onto the flat beds of our uparmored transport trucks, strapping them down and readying them for the convoy phase of the operation, our terp approached me asking if the Iraqi commander could speak with the two female Soldiers we had on mission with us. When the Iraqi commander walked out of his office he was holding the hand of his cute little five year old daughter who seemed out of place dressed in her bright green shorts and pig tails. Her eyes lit up in surprise when my two Soldiers removed their helmets and their long blonde hair fell out. The interpreter spent several minutes translating questions and answers for the young girl who eventually hoped that one day she too could be a Soldier as her smiling father stood proudly by watching the exchange.
 
I can’t think of a more telling sign that peace and stability is taking hold in Iraq.
 
The lovely and talented and downright sexy Mrs. Hook recently shared a story with me related to her by Castaway Conner’s second grade teacher. The kids were sitting in circle time conducting some activity when the teacher noticed my young seven year old swashbuckler had his face in his hands crying. When she asked him what was wrong he looked up with tears in his eyes and replied, “Nothing, I’m not thinking about my dad.” You might have heard the loud crack as my heart broke.
 
I know it’s hard being a Soldier, I can’t imagine how difficult it is being the son of a Soldier.
 
My heartfelt thanks for all the support and prayers we’ve received from all of you. I’m convinced we would not have been as successful as we have without them. Thank you all. Sgt Hook out.
Leave a Reply

