Technology, Friend or Foe?

Last night around 9:30 pm my internet went down.  It’s been giving me problems lately so I just ignored it and figured it would be back up soon.  No-go.  It was still down at 12:30 am.  After rebooting my computer and doing that stupid unplug test they ask you to do with the modem, it still didn’t work.  So I decided to call.  No-go.  My phone, which is also under Cox Communications, was dead.  Lovely.  I have no cell phone. 
 
I decide to run up the street to the QT and use the pay phone to call them.  As luck would have it there was a Cox Communications truck parked there where the Cox man was getting coffee, so I asked him if there was an outage in the area.  Sure enough, he tells me their lines/system got vandalized in my area and they are working on it.  Won’t be up for some hours.  Gah!  My service didn’t come back up till 8:28 am.  I happened to be on my computer when it popped back on.
 
I have to admit, I’m addicted to my internet connection.  I do lots of surfing.  I’m always using it to Google something.  Number one right now is jobs and applying online, making my required weekly unemployment claims, looking up recipes, blogging, pulling email, listening to music, looking up movies, catching up on news stories, checking my bank statements, chatting online, etc. etc.
 
Having my phone down at the same time is a bit disturbing too.  Not that I’m on the phone 24/7 but if I had a fire or emergency or something I wouldn’t have any way to call for help.  I’d have to wake up a neighbor.  Not that I’ll have an emergency but, it’s just an uneasy feeling of not having the phone up.  Especially since I don’t have a cell.  Before you ask, I HATE cell phones. 
 
Oh well… something like this is good sometimes as it forces me to clean out closets and stacks of paperwork.
Leave a Reply

