I Can't Believe My Ears

I head out to the store this evening and while in my car I start channel surfing the radio.  I have a various different stations programmed and when I landed on 94.5 I couldn’t believe my ears.  Christmas music.  Yes, Christmas music on Nov. 1st.  Not just one or two songs, not just a block of time but they have already started their 24/7 Christmas music on November 1st.  Don’t believe me?  Just go to their website and listen live.
 
99.9 Used to be the only station in the valley that did the 24/7 Christmas music and they used to start it the day after Thanksgiving – which was totally cool.  Then I have noticed in recent years that they started it earlier and earlier in the month – which I don’t like.   You get burned out on that shizz and I wish they would push it back to the day after Thanksgiving. 
 
Now…. we have this station that has started today.  Good Gawd peoples!  What’s the rush?  Can we have an election?  Can we recognize Veteran’s Day?  Can I enjoy some turkey first?  I’m barely digesting my Halloween candy.
3 Responses to “I Can't Believe My Ears”

  1. Mike Says:

    I know what you mean. I wasn’t thrilled when I saw the AZ Lottery had issued their Christmas themed scratcher tickets before Halloween again, and when I went and picked up stuff for the party on Tuesday, I really didn’t like hearing Jingle Bells playing over the speakers in the store!

  2. Danger Zone Says:

    At one job I had we had the ancient ‘Muzak’ radio stations. We used to control it in the warehouse and everyday it was either 80’s, 70’s, classic rock or metal. Around November the women in the office area decided they wanted the station placed on Christmas music permanently for the season. I stole the remote control for the system and hid the whole system. People were outraged because it was on classic rock non-stop. Eventually they gave in and decided they could listen to their precious festive hymns on their own radios. After all us poor bastards working in a miserable frozen warehouse had little other pleasures in life.

  3. Vox Says:

    Just to add to your seasonal joy – this is what I was drinking today


Leave a Reply

