My Stance On The Whole Thing

Barack Obama won the election and will be the next President of the United States of America.  I want to sincerely congratulate Barack and the Obama family for this.  Does this make history?  Yes and it IS positive.  Personally, I don’t care about a persons race.  I care about a person’s character and ability to do the job well.  I care about their past actions as well as their future actions. 
 
Do I think he is an evil person?  No.  Do I think he is un-American?  No.  Do I agree with this guy’s values and policies?  Not a good many of them, NO.  Do I like his character?  Not all aspects of it, NO.
 
Do I want him to fail?  No, I don’t.  Because wanting him to fail would make America fail.  It would make us all fail.  I can’t wish that or hope for that and no one should.  No matter how much we may disagree with him or congress.  We need to focus on making the country better no matter who is in office.  Mike Huckabee said it well, “He’s not my choice but he’s my President and I will support and pray for him everyday.”
 
Does that mean I won’t criticize him and what he does?  No.  I will still always point out things if I disagree with them or if I think they are just out right bad for our country’s interests.  I will still be emotional over things.  I will still give my OPINION on things.
 
Hey look, I am passionate about politics, especially U.S. politics.  I have every right to be.  I have every right to CARE about it.  Other people may not give a rats ass about it and be passionate about other things that they find important in their lives.  Whether it’s music or magazines or movies or charity work or horses or sports or stamp collecting or their faith or their work or whatever.  That’s cool.  I don’t begrudge anyone that.  So on the same page, don’t begrudge MY passion and interests either.
 
I use this blog to vent.  It’s my outlet and passion sometimes.  Just like others have their interests and outlets like music or hitting a punching bag or yoga etc. etc.  Sometimes I’m humorous, sometimes I’m just noting things I ponder, sometimes I talk about my favorite things and sometimes I’m VENTING.  If my opinions or my blog will hurt a readers delicate sensibilities then I’m sorry.  Venting helps me just get out the emotion in a healthy way for myself.  It’s MY way.  If I feel I can’t do it freely and safely here, then I can become a real time bomb and god help whomever will get that final explosion. 
 
But I digress.
 
Again, I sincerely hope that I am wrong on some of my opinions on Barack Obama.  I hope and pray he surprises me.  I hope he does good things.  I hope Michelle Obama focuses on good things.  I hope he has what it takes to step up to the MANY challenges he will have to face and he will have many.  I hope, hope, hope.  That was one of his mottos right?
 
Maybe a change like this is a good thing.  Because sometimes it takes something so drastic and outside the box of the norm to do some good.  Maybe this will get the Republican party back on it’s feet in a more positive way and producing good leaders.  Maybe Barack will TRY to come to the middle a bit and work on building things with both parties.  Maybe.  Again, I hope so.
 
So at this moment I’d like to say congratulations to Senator Barack Obama and his family on becoming the next President of the United States of America. 
 
obamafamily1 

2 Responses to “My Stance On The Whole Thing”

  1. 3rdtimesacharm( 3T ) Says:

    Eloquently stated, Lori. So much so, I want you to know that even though we may differ in our beliefs politically, I respect you, and your right to your opinions. Especially here on Desert Martini.

    Politically, I would say that I’m probably not as passioate on politics as you are. Although we both want the same things; to see this country on right footing, to see our economy rebound and rebuild some of our foreign relationships.

    I do believe that regardless of who became President, that person inherits a whole lot of messes to work through. My prayer is that regardless of Republican or Democrat, that our branches of Government will work together to improve the conditions in the economy and abroad.

    I don’t know that many people who are not running a little scared these days. Those that do have jobs face the possibilities of lay-offs. And countless many who have already been layed off are struggling to survive until they find another job. (A job that in a lot of cases will be far beneath what they were making in their previous job. Even retirement accounts have taken major hits. (Our 401k dropped 40% in one month) Economically it is one scary world out there right now. I pray that all of us as Americans can put our differences aside, to work on building a better and united United States.

    None of us really knows what the future holds for us individually and as a Country. One thing I do know is that personally I will not allow politics to come before my relationships with friends, aquantances or family. My hope is that the majority of Americans will feel the same way. (We recently experienced what it is to have family we love turn on us, due to our politics. To say that saddens me would be an understatement) But we came away from that experience determined to not allow ourselves to put political differences in front of our loved ones.

    To close this meandering comment; I just want you to know I have been and will continue to be a consistent reader of Desert Martini. When I do disagree with what you may write at times, I recognize that this is your blog, your platform, to state how you feel and what you think. When that happens, I refrain from comment. But only out of respect for you.

    With love & sincerity,

    3T

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    Hi 3T! Thanks for the nice comment you left. I’m sorry to hear about a rift in family relationships due to opinions. That stinks. You can still leave comments on things you don’t agree with me on.

    Politics can be a sucky thing. I’m sure I’ll still rant and rave and say things that will offend people just like things others said over the last eight years offended me. It’s just the way it is I guess.

    On the other side of that, I’ll still blog about non-politics items as well. ;-


Leave a Reply

