A Song For The Soldiers

vetsday08
Veteran’s Day carries a special place in my heart, especially as a daughter and a sister of Veterans.  I think the job of the soldier is a very noble one.  I think that it doesn’t get enough credit or praise or even really thought about with most people.  Sure, people say they support the troops but I think that has become an automatic and politically correct response that a lot of people say.  Kind of like when you say “bless you” after someone sneezes.  They say it, but don’t really put much thought into it.
 
I remember noting a few years ago on my old blog that I was a bit miffed at Google because they always seem to decorate their logo for every holiday under the sun except Military ones.  The only patriotic holiday that they seemed to recognize was Independence day.  They even have obscure days of history they decorate their logo for but never Veteran’s Day or Memorial Day or Armed Forces Day or VJ Day, or even 9/11, etc.  I noticed others were starting to complain about this too.  And finally, Google recognized Veteran’s Day last year for the first time and now today, they have done it too.  About time.  
 
In 2003 Time magazine recognized the American Soldier as it’s person of the year.  I now regret not buying a copy of it.  I thought it was so great they did that.  I wish the more of the media would do things like this.
 
Soldiers are very much not thanked enough and underpaid.  They sacrifice a lot.  Their families have to sacrifice a lot too.  Serving in the Armed Forces is a job of service, not pay.  Service to the country and it’s citizens as well as citizens of other countries.  Thank a service member or veteran for their service today. 
 
Thank you to all of you who are currently serving or who have served.  Your dedication and service is much appreciated and never forgotten.
 

[Youtube=”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xWVB0LcR_3Q&NR=1″%5D

Soldiers By ABBA
Do I hear what I think I’m hearing?
Do I see the signs I think I see?
Or is this just a fantasy?
Is it true that the beast is waking
Stirring in his restless sleep tonight
In the pale moonlight
In the grip of this cold December
You and I have reason to remember
 
Chorus
Soldiers write the songs that soldiers sing
The songs that you and I don’t sing
They blow their horns and march along
They drum their drums and look so strong
You’d think that nothing in the world was wrong
Soldiers write the songs that soldiers sing
The songs that you and I won’t sing
Let’s not look the other way
Taking a chance
‘Cause if the bugler starts to play
We too must dance
 
What’s that sound, what’s that dreadful rumble?
Won’t somebody tell me what I hear?
In the distance but drawing near
Is it only a storm approaching?
All that thunder and the blinding light
In the winter night
In the grip of this cold December
You and I have reason to remember
 
chorus
Soldiers write the songs that soldiers sing
The songs that you and I don’t sing
They blow their horns and march along
They drum their drums and look so strong
You’d think that nothing in the world was wrong
Soldiers write the songs that soldiers sing
The songs that you and I won’t sing
Let’s not look the other way
Taking a chance
‘Cause if the bugler starts to play
We too must dance
 
chorus
Soldiers write the songs that soldiers sing
The songs that you and I don’t sing
Let’s not look the other way
Taking a chance
‘Cause if the bugler starts to play
We too must dance
Leave a Reply

