Is It Just Me?

Getting asked a totally inappropriate question yet again in a FIRST TIME CHAT.  But I’ll get to that in a minute.
 
So on this new dating site, and it has this Instant Message option on there and I’m thinking of turning it off.  Once I log into the site to pull my mail, I immediately will get instant messages popping up from men wanting to chat.  It’s a little overbearing and intrusive sometimes and they get all butt hurt if you ignore them. 
 
Just because I’m online checking my email and such doesn’t mean I’m in the mood to chat with every Tom, Dick and Harry.  Now yes, I can turn the option off but I didn’t want to have to do that because if after exchanging emails with someone I’m interested in, I may want to chat with them.  I’d hate to always have to turn the IM option on and off all the time to do that though.  But I may just have to.  I put right on my profile that I wanted to have an email connection first before someone starts to IM me.  But obviously men can’t read.  No.  They look at the pics and think, “Hey, she’s hawt!” and then go straight to chat.  Not that I totally object to that, but honestly these chats turn out to lead to sexual innuendos by these jokers.
 
Some people I have chatted with and some I have ignored.
 
Anyway…. this guy did this.  Popped right on and started asking questions.  I wasn’t all that attracted to him but he seemed nice and thought I’d give it a go.  So let me cut right to the part of the convo that got under my skin word for word…. oh and as a side note, don’t type in all caps.
 
Him:  SO HOW COME YOU DON’T HAVE KIDS
Me:  Because I have never been married.
Him:  THERE WASN’T NOT OOPS I GOING TO HAVE A BABY
Me:  Uh… no.  Kind of an odd and private question to ask someone you don’t know, don’t you think?
Him:  I JUST THINK IT A THING TO KNOW WHEN YOUR TRYING TO KNOW SOMEONE
Me:  That they are getting pregnant?
Him:  I LIKE HONEST WITH NO B.S
Me:  I don’t think it’s an appropriate question.
Him:  WHY YOU DON’T HAVE KIDS THATS ALL
Me:  And me telling you because I have never been married didn’t answer that for you?
Him:  DIDN’T YOUR BOYFRIENDS GET YOU PREGNANT I GUESS NOT
Me:  That is a really inappropriate question.  Good night. 
 
After that, he just tried to ask another question like “so what do you do for fun” before I logged off of the chat window.  No apology for offending me and seemed to think what he was asking was like what flavor ice cream I liked.  This is a divorced man with two kids and 40 years old.  I don’t know, maybe I’m overreacting here or something.  I mean is it just me that thinks this was out of line?
 
That’s it… I’m writing a book on online dating.  Someone needs to school these people and hell, why not get rich while I’m having to deal with this agony?  And yeah, I’m going to have to cut off my IM on that site.
One Response to “Is It Just Me?”

  1. Nail Whore Says:

    Oh what a friggin jackass. He needs a smack upside his head. What the hell is wrong with people?


Leave a Reply

