Yummy Family Breakfast

Before my gal pal left the state, I decided to treat the fam-damily to a little breakfast.  I know how moving can be a pain and having to worry about cooking when you are packing all your dishes and such.
 
I was just glad I decided to double the recipe at the last min. because some other family members were at the house helping out too.  Everyone complimented me on it and since it’s such a tasty and easy thing to make, I’d figure I’d share the recipe here.  My mom also makes this every Christmas morning.  What is nice is you can put everything together ahead of time and stick it in the fridge the night before and then in the morning just pop it in the oven.
 
Egg Strata
 
Ingredients:
1 lb bulk sausage
2 C. frozen hash browns (I use the tiny potato chunks – southern style)
2-3 Tbsp. margarine
1 C. shredded cheddar cheese
6 eggs
2 1/2 C. milk
1/2 Tsp. salt
Onion chopped
 
Directions:
Sauté sausage until brown; drain.  Melt margarine and brown with hash browns and onions.  Place sausage in bottom of 2 quart casserole dish.  Cover with hash browns and then sprinkle with shredded cheese.  Beat eggs, milk and salt together and pour over hash brown mixture.  Bake at 350 for 45 min.  Serves 6-8.
 
Note:  You can double the recipe – my mom always does.  You can also add other things like diced green peppers or chopped mushrooms, etc.  This recipe also freezes well.  After I take it out of the oven, I usually let it rest for about 5 – 7 min. first before serving.  Seems to settle and serve better that way.
One Response to “Yummy Family Breakfast”

  1. justbarbi Says:

    That was sooooo good. I miss you chickie so very much. I hope you are well my friend. Its about 35 degees out tonight and rainy. Im loving it. Everything is such a trip but good. I still dont know what the heck we did but Im going with it. I love you much!


Leave a Reply

