Kids and Teens Need To Be In Bed

I was out making a quick run to the store and it is 11:40 pm.  As I’m driving along I see two teenage boys roaming around and talking on their cell phones.  Why on earth do parents let their kids out this late on a school night?  I don’t know, maybe I’m old fashioned but do teens really have any business out this late on a school night?
 
I had a bedtime till I graduated high school.  I had to be in bed by 10pm.  Yep.  Not getting home at 10, not starting to get ready for bed at 10 but IN the bed at 10pm.  I had lots of trouble getting up in the morning so my parents were very firm about this no matter how much I moaned and protested.  It makes sense to me now of course.  I’ve read that teens actually need more sleep than adults and they are not getting it.
 
Not only that, it’s just too loose of parenting skills to let their teens wandering around at night till almost midnight during the week.  I mean, what the hell do they need to be out doing at this hour besides being up to no good?  Or how about other adult characters out there up to no good that may come in contact your kids?  Personally I think it is thoughtless parenting.  Stop being their “friend” and be their parent.
2 Responses to “Kids and Teens Need To Be In Bed”

  1. Vox Says:

    Some of the high schools are on spring break this week, so it *may* not have been a school night, but….

    Teenagers out on the street that late makes me think they were ‘working’ – selling something.

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    ahh you know what, I didn’t even think about Spring Break. It could very well be.


Leave a Reply

