Best Bob Hope Line

Last week I was chatting with someone and talking about Bob Hope and I wanted to show them this clip that I remembered Vox had posted.  For the life of me I couldn’t find it while doing searches on her blog.  After viewing her stats, she re-posted it.  Vox… gotta love her!  Thanks chicky.
10 Responses to “Best Bob Hope Line”

  1. EricB Says:

    According to Marlon Brando’s wisdom Hope would have showed up at a Democrat convention quite happily somewhere in rural Delaware.

  2. EricB Says:

    Not at all, here is the original quote:

    But his delight in his own celebrity grated in some quarters. “He’s a junkie, an applause junkie,” complained Marlon Brando. “Bob Hope will go to the opening of a phone booth in Anaheim provided they have a camera and three people there.”

    Classic stuff from Brando!!

  3. EricB Says:

    It wasn’t random because I first read the quote years ago in an interview Brando did with Playboy in 1979. I remembered it and used it in a conversation with Desert Martini when we discussed Bob Hope last week.

  4. Vox Says:

    Glad I could find it… I knew it must be someone who’d been around a while to know what to look for 😉

    Still cracks me up – needs to be dumbed with “You mean like Obamabots?” I swear those people scare me in their zombie-like, blinders-on, lock-step devotion.

    Though, I did have a neighbor, who left their “Kerry/Edwards” sticker on the last 4 years, remove their “Obama/Biden” sticker last week. Nice -maybe it’ll be like Carter soon, you won’t be able to find any regular folks who’ll admit to voting for him, even the ones being so loud & obnoxious (and Obamabot like) about it for the last 8 months or so – heh

  5. Vox Says:

    dumbed = dubbed

    My brain is fogged with sinus pressure 😉

  6. Vox Says:

    “According to Marlon Brando’s wisdom Hope would have showed up at a Democrat convention quite happily somewhere in rural Delaware.”

    What? Is that from a random comment generator or something?

  7. Vox Says:

    I was right – completely random

  8. EricB Says:

    If you read about Brando it wouldn’t surprise you. He had a low tolerance for celebrity and tried to sun the limelight as much as he could.

  9. Martini Girl Says:

    I’m guessing Vox’s comment about it being random is she is making fun of Brando – but I could be wrong. I must admit that comment does surprise me from Brando.


Leave a Reply

