More Broken Down System – This Time Peoria

So… I decided to apply for the utilities assistance program in getting help.  I called the number and the guy told me I can call on Monday June 1st at 8:00 am to make an appointment.  I asked what if the lines are completely busy and I can’t get through (we all know you can’t get through to the unemployment office and that’s 5 days a week!)  He said, ‘Nothing but just keep trying.’  I asked if there are other days to call like every Monday or every other Monday and he said no.  Only that Monday to just make an appointment.  The guy had a really snotty little tude too.  Nice.
 
I have to work on Monday so I only have from 8-10 to try and get through.  I can already see where this is going to go.  *Sigh*  How in the fuck are these systems supposed to work in times like this when people like me REALLY and TRULY need it in a desperate time like this who are not freeloaders?  Maybe I’m jumping the gun in my assumptions, but my gut tells me I’m not.  We’ll see I guess.
 
Oh and something I never noticed before till now, the city of Peoria taxes food!!!  I thought food you purchase at the grocery store was not supposed to be taxed?
3 Responses to “More Broken Down System – This Time Peoria”

  1. Serenity Says:

    Almost anywhere I’ve lived they tax food that is considered “prepared” such as frozen dinners, canned soup, deli food, chips, that sort of thing. They didn’t tax fresh meat, fresh veggies or eggs.

    I guess the government thinks you should pay more for convenience.

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    It sucks because Phoenix and the other surrounding cities (except Peoria) doesn’t tax food.

  3. We Have A Twitter Down, I Repeat, A Twitter Is Down « Desert Martini Says:

    […] it back tomorrow.  Sadly that means I have to buy a more pricey one now.  Grrrrr..   Remember this?  Yeah, I totally forgot to call.  Know why?  Because it’s dumb as shit to only have one […]


Leave a Reply

