I Feel Like I'm In A Heinz Commercial

 
A man approached me on one of my dating sites and we emailed a bit back and forth.  Cute, seems nice, in the service, had a nice profile, was a gentleman in the emails, blah, blah, blah.  So I gave him my number and he called me tonight.
 
I can’t remember the last time I had a conversation with someone that had so many pauses.  Now that I think about it, they were more like silences than pauses.  It seemed like I had to keep up the end of the conversation with statements about myself and asking him questions.  Then when one of us would finish an answer, he wouldn’t say anything.  I laughed a few times at that and then he started laughing too.  I asked if he was shy and he said not really but just trying to think of what to say next.  I was a little surprised by this since his emails seemed witty.
 
He seemed very nice, normal (aside from the long ass pauses) and a person who seems to have a stable life.  Those awkward silences were killing me though.  I mean one person can’t hold up the entire conversation.  He did ask me questions but only if I held out during a long pause and didn’t ask anything – trying to prompt him.  Not sure I really dig having to do all the work here. 
 
I even had to end the call with telling him to call me again and if all goes well to ask me out.  He seemed chipper about that.  So hopefully maybe it was just nerves on his part and the next time we won’t have awkward silences.  Otherwise he won’t get far with me if he can’t carry a small talk conversation.  You are cute and sweet but you have to keep my attention and be able to converse with me too sweetheart.
6 Responses to “I Feel Like I'm In A Heinz Commercial”

  1. EricB Says:

    I want to know why it is hip to like Johnny Cash. It seems as if you don’t then you are mentally deficient. That song he covered where he sings ‘I hurt myself today’ seems to be a rallying call for 20 something nerds. “That song gets me fired up,” commented some punk the other day. How does that shit get you fired up? To kill yourself.? By the same token though if I listen to some heavy metal such as WASP it is to be mocked by the same jackasses. But old Johnny is cool, after all he was an outlaw. I suspect these frauds are pretending to like his music. What makes it different to other classic country artists? I don’t see them listening to Willie Nelson or Kris Kristofferson. But they seem to find something in Cash. I have observed them listening to it and seen the fake enthusiasm. It’s really quite sickening.

  2. Tracy Says:

    Eek – yeah, that’s a bit of a red flag – not for him being a dangerous person, just for him potentially having a dull personality (you know, cute & sweet, but dull like Peter Brady – lol!). Seriously though, the getting-to-someone-new phase is sooo fun because there is LOADS to talk about it…I mean, even George Costanza knew to have a list of topics/questions ready to ask during an initial phone call with a new lady interest (I know, I watch too much TV – haha). Maybe it was nerves and a 2nd phone conversation might turn it around. If it’s still pulling teeth to get him to speak, then I’m not sure I’d bother with a face to face meeting because silence like that is twice as awkward in-person than it is over the phone, IMO!

  3. Martini Girl Says:

    EricB,
    lol did you mean to post this somewhere else? I like Cash but I do like me some Kristofferson better. 😉

    Tracy,
    the silence was really painful. The guy even has a PHD and can’t do small talk or think of some questions to ask?? lol

  4. EricB Says:

    No, I was aware of that. I just thought it was as good there as anywhere.

  5. Lincoln Says:

    I went through that once too with a coworker girl. I always had to carry the conversation ball whenever I talked to her. She was the quiet, shy type, but for f&^k’s sake, would have been nice if she had made an effort to actually talk to me too instead of me trying to fill the silence all the friggin’ time. Then later on she marries a coworker. Id love to have seen how on the ass end of Mars this guy managed to carry enough of a conversation with her to pull that off.

  6. Martini Girl Says:

    Lincoln,
    She went on to marry a co-worker? Good grief. Maybe you and I are just too much for others to handle. hahaha.


Leave a Reply

