They Come in 3's Don't They?

Ed McMahon, Farrah Fawcett and then Michael Jackson.  Wow.  Ed wasn’t too big of a shocker and I think we expected any day now for Farrah.  But then the whammy cherry on top being Michael. 
 
You know, I’m actually shocked and a bit sad that Michael Jackson has died.  I wasn’t a huge fan or anything but I did like him.  It’s hard to describe really because I have never owned anything Michael Jackson.  I’ve never bought his music.  I did watch him in the Jackson Five on TV.  My friend had his Off the Wall album and I listened to it there.  When Thriller came out, I was too busy into my Nu Wave stuff like Duran Duran, Kaja Goo Goo, The Police, Nik Kershaw and the like. 
 
When Thriller was all the rage and the biggest seller of all time, I couldn’t get why fans went as crazy as they did for him.  I thought his music and image were good and likeable, but just didn’t think it was THAT big a deal.  But over time I grew to appreciate his music, his style, his dancing and just how talented he really was, even though he really wasn’t my thing.  Sounds corny I guess.  The one thing I did enjoy was watching his videos.  I thought he really had some fantastic ones.  Especially in the 80’s.  His dancing was hands down, brilliant.  Even today, I’ll watch a Michael Jackson video if I happen to catch one.  Billie Jean is probably my all time favorite song/video of his.  Great music in that one.  You Rock My World is a great video.  Good music, famous faces in it, fun familiar lines, nice costumes, great dancing… classy.  Who can forget Beat it?
 
Of course over the years, he got creepy.  Just down right creepy.  I hated how he changed his looks so much.  Even the way he talked.  The weird things he would say.  The weird things he wanted to buy.  His marriage to Lisa Marie.  Weird interviews.  And then there was the whole creepy thing with kids.  I still to this day wonder if he really did do bad things with kids or was he really innocent and the truth was nothing but money grubbing people using their kids to get money out of him.  I just don’t know.
 
You have to admit that even if he wasn’t your cup of tea, the guy had some serious talent.  Even as a really young kid, his talent was pretty mind blowing.  I mean, how old is he here?  How good is that performance?  It blows away some ADULT talent today.  I heard on the news tonight that the tour he was getting ready to do in England, all 50 of his shows sold out in minutes.  The boy still has an incredible fan base even after all these years.  Even all the younger generations loving him.  It amazes me.
 
I didn’t watch the news long.  I then flipped over to MTV and found that much more enjoyable as they are of course playing all Michael Jackson videos and old interviews and appearances.  It’s nice to see MTV doing that.  Reminds me of the old days on MTV when it was actually about the music.  Go tune in.  Forget the news.
 
People will complain that his death and coverage of this is going to be annoying because it will probably go on for days and days.  It puts Farrah’s death in the shadows and so on.  People will say who gives a crap about him?  But, you’ll have to get over it because like it or not the guy was an icon.  It’s going to be covered a lot and then some.  Just like when Elvis died.  You may say, ‘he’s no Elvis’ and believe me, I’m an Elvis fan.  But remember not everyone was an Elvis fan either.
 
Love him, hate him, indifferent… Michael Jackson made some music history. 
 
Here is a quick video play list of my favs.  I’ll add more later, too tired to finish and now it’s time for bed.
6 Responses to “They Come in 3's Don't They?”

  1. Cindy Says:

    Nik Kershaw! OMGosh! Yeah, I was never a big MJ fan, either.

    My Dad really can’t stand Billy Mays – and he apparently died earlier today…only 50 – same as MJ. Weird.

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    I heard about Billy Mays at work today. What is really, really crazy is I saw one of his commercials last night and almost blogged a post on this guy wondering how much money this guy makes and what in the world could I do to get his job. I even thought, he probably has to die first. Man… No joke, I seriously thought that!

  3. Martini Girl Says:

    I’m now wondering if we should start some betting on who is next…. Walter Cronkite, Liz Taylor or Ted Kennedy? Or will it be somebody really off the wall like Chastity Bono during her sex change operation?

  4. Tracy Says:

    Wow, I could’ve written this post because I pretty much think & feel the same way as you’ve described about MJ and his passing. Despite not being a big fan, I did buy the Thriller album back in the day, and I could see building a reasonable MJ ipod playlist as long as it included Jackson 5 songs and “She’s out of my life” which is probably my fave MJ song. I feel for his 3 kids and I hope they can somehow escape the circus that is the Jackson Family.

  5. Cindy Says:

    I asked my dad if he had an alibi for Sunday…oh, I didn’t like the guy but I sure wouldn’t wish that on anybody. uh huh.

    Oh, and Fred Travalena – do you remember him? I remember he did lots of imitations.

  6. Martini Girl Says:

    Wow, I forgot all about that song She’s Out of My Life. Good one.


Leave a Reply

