Birthday Bumming

Well the big 4-0 is coming on the tenth and I literally have no plans or no one to spend it with.  I’ll be honest and say it’s a bit depressing.  My good friends have all moved away.  Not even my parents will be here for my birthday as they are going to Las Vegas.  My brother and all other relatives are long distance.  I’m probably not even going to get anything from someone else close to me.  This completely sucks.  Isn’t the 40th Birthday suppose to be a big deal?  Aren’t you suppose to have people throwing you a big huge bash for this one?  Aren’t your best buds suppose to be taking you to a male stripper show and getting you shit faced?
 
Not married, no kids, career gone, life savings gone, home might be gone, no money, no friends, no family and no lover.  Reaching the 40th year on top of all of this is a little too much.  It is suppose to be one of those birthdays where you can look back and reflect on what you have accomplished in life and all the great people in your life.  All it’s reminding me of is everything that I have lost.
7 Responses to “Birthday Bumming”

  1. Cindy Says:

    I always wished I had a birthday during the school year . But it’s in the summer and with Dad a squid we were either moving or my friends were moving…

    You’ll be getting a couple of packages this week…maybe late. One I’ll send tomorrow (hoping that will get there by the tenth) and the other hasn’t even arrived at my house…

  2. Cindy Says:

    Oh and this past birthday I spent sick as a dog. Had chicken noodle soup at Denny’s (The Mominator wanted to dual-celebrate with my Dad).

    My brother had just spent a week with them in Nebraska and was wanting them out of town so I sucked it up and got it over with. Fun.

    And she really only likes to eat at Denny’s. One year she offered to take me out but said we couldn’t go to a particular restaurant the I happen to like (she didn’t care for it). Um, whose birthday is it?

  3. Martini Girl Says:

    Awww GB, you didn’t have to send me anything. Seriously. You guys have given me so much already. Thanks for your big huge hearts. I love you both.

    Damn, you are right about the restaurant thing. Whose birthday is it? I guess that means you get to pick the place on hers then. lol

  4. Cindy Says:

    And to boot, a few years ago on Father’s Day, she chose that restaurant too! Then she didn’t eat! Said the water made her naseous! My brother, dad and I just looked at each other…good grief. But hey, she’s got to control everything!

    So yeah, I kinda wished they’d stayed in Phoenix. Once a year was more that enough for me!

  5. Martini Girl Says:

    Wow. Well… one way you can get even is give her square wheels on her wheel chair down the road.

  6. Tracy Says:

    My big 4-0 came and went very quietly last year…I know of others who had celebrations for theirs, but the theme was always about being “over the hill.” Screw that – I’d rather skip the party if the focus is on something that I consider negative (ohhh you’re middle-aged now, the best years are behind you, it’s all downhill from here, blah blah blah). When I had visited a website dedicated to my high school class and reviewed the “memorial” page, which listed classmates who have passed away, I was reminded how unbelieveably blessed I am to have made it to 40 when considering the others who didn’t make it as far. I scrapbook as a hobby, so I created a page to mark the occasion (and treated myself to a minor shopping spree), and that was very satisfying. Be kind to yourself, and celebrate that you have survived to experience this milestone age 🙂 Have a very Happy Birthday!!!

  7. Martini Girl Says:

    Thanks Tracy. I know I have a lot of things to be thankful for. I should have threw myself a “single and fabulous” party and registered for gifts! lol Now I’m mad I didn’t think about that sooner dammit! Too late now, b-day is tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

