Lordy Lordy She’s Forty!

So…. I had a much better day.  After my last post I went to bed and tossed and turned a bit.  But got up bright and early and sort of had a tude.  But… it was nice to clock in at work and actually have the time clock say Happy Birthday to me.  Corny I know but it was nice.  No one at work said anything though.  Not even my boss.  Pretty boring and quiet day at work.  Nothing new.
 
I came home to find some nice emails, comments from friends on the blog and nice Twitter birthday wishes.  I got a letter that was nice to get as well.  It made my day even nicer.  Then I listened to my phone messages and it was so fun to hear Cindy’s AKA GrumpyBunny’s voice, well wishes and enthusiasm.  You were soooo cute!!!  I was laughing and loving it.  (I plan on calling you back here in a min after I post this).  Then to my surprise that dude who I spoke with a few times on the phone from Facebook called out of the blue and sang Happy Birthday on my answering machine.  lol wow, I didn’t expect that.  I guess Facebook must notify people of your birthday.  Then my bud Andrew called and sang a bit and left a goofy message too.  I love him.
 
Then I ran to the store really quick and couldn’t believe how beautiful the sky looked.  Soooo many colors as the sun was fading away and some nice wind to boot.  This will sound cheesy but the song “What a Wonderful World” was playing at the same time.  Made me lighten up even more.
 
Then when I came through the door, I remembered I had a package from Cindy waiting in my mailbox.  I couldn’t grab my keys fast enough and raced to get it.  I was sooo surprised!!!  Wow!  She got me those really cool Migi nail art sets!  Not one but THREE sets of them!!!  Now I know why you asked which one I liked the best!  I’m sorry I never answered that one – lol.  Doesn’t matter, I love them all.  And a big juicy watermelon lip balm!  Gurrrl…. you shouldn’t have!  That was so generous of you.  I was gasping out loud and saying oh my gawd!  And she tells me I have another package in the mail tomorrow.  I’m deeply touched.
 
I actually sat down and got teary eyed over everything I read, heard and received as soon as I got home and settled in.  Thank you all so, so, so much.  It’s the little things from ALL of you that saves me every day.
 
And now my friends, I have finally had a moment to actually think about it and that is, wow 40?  Really?  Seriously?  Wow.  But hey, I’m a hot 40 right?  lol
 
****UPDATE:  I got to talk with Cindy on the phone and it was so awesome to laugh and chit chat.  I think I may have talked your ear off though.
 
Martini Man also called me tonight and surprisingly, we had a very good conversation.  It was nice to have a conversation with a man from a dating site that actually has some communication skills – as he also demonstrated in his emails.  He seems squared away and fun.  He will be taking the bar exam in Feb and I thought that was pretty impressive.  But still… I don’t like to jump to any assumptions or conclusions right away.  One phone call means nothing at this stage.
 
I saw that both Andrew and Barb called me while I was on the phone.  I’m sooo sorry I wasn’t able to answer.  I know you were both calling to wish me a happy b-day and to cheer me up.  I appreciate it more than you know!  I will talk with both of you as soon as I can.  I was also suppose to call my friend Kelly back and didn’t get to her either!  But now I must get sleep.  I have to be at work at 7am.  Yikes!  Time to take this 40 year old, but sexy ass to bed.
3 Responses to “Lordy Lordy She’s Forty!”

  1. Cindy Says:

    See, you survived! Just wait until the big 5-0…it’s corny, but rue – you really are only as old as you feel.

    I think back to how The Mominator was when she was my age. Good grief! Unhappy. Home-work-home. No real friends or hobbies…

    My dad, brother and I have determined that the woman just plain does not know how to have fun. Sorta surprised she’s not dead yet, not to be morbid, but I think she’s decided she’s got to outlive us all in order to prevent us from having any fun either.

    Martini Girl – it was really GREAT to talk with you last night; even if I stayed up past my bedtime – hee hee hee 🙂 Dennis sort of apologized for answering my phone – I normally don’t do that, but I saw it was MARTINI GIRL and figured you’d want to talk to her. Too cute.

    I have a Sanctuary Day tomorrow (He’s got to work)! I definitely have to get some stuff done for our show in 3 weeks but I am going to carve out some time to play with the nail pens!

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    It was great fun talking to you! We never ever get to. You know, you kind of remind me of Maripat. The lady I used to co-host “Right We Are” with. Were you ever a reader of that blog? It was before the DCC blog I had.

    You totally were a big part in me having a great b-day. And you know something? I’m actually feeling pretty damn good at the thought of being 40 now. Nice even, round number.

  3. Cindy Says:

    Yes, RightWeAre – that’s when I first found you! I was sorry to see that one come to an end.

    I was just thinking that some of the bloggies from before aren’t blogging anymore – Uptown Girl, Geoffrey might as well not – dog snot (I think his last post was in April)…


Leave a Reply

