The Mating… Oops I Mean Dating Game

Wow, so much has happened in my world of dating this past week where do I begin?
 
So…. some nights ago Martini Man and I were making plans to go to the big band thingy.  That late afternoon that he was suppose to call me to confirm times and all that jazz he called and said he was sorry but still at school and had to stay for some “group study meeting” or something so he couldn’t take me out.  He said he felt really bad about it and that he’ll have to be more creative and find something perfect for us to do.  *sniff, sniff* Do I smell bullshit here?  I think so.  Not that I’m all upset over this since I wasn’t all that attracted to him, but last min. study group on a Friday night when you already planned a date?  Yeah, pull this one and it plays jingle bells.  I’m just seriously tired of men’s bullshit lies.  He could be telling the truth but my gut doubts it.  Oh well. 
 
Funny though, the next night I get a phone call from Home Improvement guy.  I think he had almost given up on me since the last few messages he left I never returned.  This time I picked up the phone.  We talked for a bit and caught up.  Then he asked me out and I accepted.  Screw it.  I took control and told him I wanted to be taken out to dinner and drinks.  He delivered.  We went to the Yardhouse on my side of town.  One of my favorite bar/restaurants.  To my surprise I actually had a good time.  I got a bit tipsy.  He was driving so what the hell right?  I felt a little loose and free that night to let my hair down and have been in dire need of it.  We actually laughed quite a bit.  Afterwards we headed over to my place and he stayed awhile.  We laughed some more and had a good time.  It was pretty late by the time he left, but I slept like a rock.
 
The next day I got an email on one of my dating sites from a cute guy.  He actually had a decent email.  I said screw it and gave him my number right away.  He called me that night and we chatted.  He seemed like a really nice guy.  He did gush a bit over my pictures and how beautiful I was and how he loved my eyes and all that.  All I kept thinking was “yeah, yeah… same ole shite, you probably only want ass.”  But I was nice and polite and hid my thoughts.  The conversation was friendly enough but honestly he was telling me too much too soon.  This was just our first phone call and he was telling me he just got divorced – like weeks ago and a bunch of other stuff.  Later after our phone call he sent me an email saying how much he enjoyed the conversation and that he felt like there was a serious connection.  I’m thinking really?  I mean come on, really?  After one phone call there’s a “serious connection?”  Who knows, maybe to him there was.  He has called me two more times already.  I wasn’t home the first time and he left a message.  The 2nd time I looked at the caller ID and didn’t pick up.  I don’t know why I’m being this way, I mean the guy seems nice but I don’t know. 
 
Then I got an email from a really young twenty something from Alaska – I changed one of my profiles locations to show I’m in Alaska since I was toying with the idea of moving there.  I figured it would let me see what’s out there.  So this guy is really, really cute, in the Marine Reserves and I forget what he does normally in his civilian job.  He’s even from Sarah Palin’s town which I got a kick out of – don’t ask me why.  He actually wrote a very nice and detailed email that seemed sincere.  I was shocked.  The guy was also looking for a LTR which honestly surprised me for his young age.  I told him I was actually in Phoenix and why my profile said Alaska.  We exchanged a few emails and he seems really super nice.  It seems genuine.  I was shocked again.  But… I’m not about to do the long distance thang with him so I told him good luck.  I know many people out there do it but not sure I could get serious with a 22 year old.  Or… maybe I could…. hmmm… heh heh.
 
Then I got another email from another cutie pie in Alaska.  Hmmm… maybe I should move to Alaska.  heh.  I sent him an explanation I’m in Phoenix though so…  Probably time to change my profile back to the Phoenix area now.
 
I don’t know.. lots of things going through my head right now about men.  Part of me wants to just go on a man spree and use them all for sex, toy with their emotions and then dump them.  That’s all men seem to do to us women.  Lie, use us for their own entertainment and dump us when it’s no longer convenient for them.  Then another part of me just feels like never dating again.  Not sure I can open my heart to anyone only have it thrown away again.  Maybe that will change, who knows.
9 Responses to “The Mating… Oops I Mean Dating Game”

  1. Cindy Says:

    Fun, cool and groovy, chica! Who knows? Have some fun and see where it leads.

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    Yeah we’ll see I guess. Lately I have thrown myself into full blown dating. That one “connection” guy keeps calling. He seems… I don’t know… desperate or something. Or maybe I just moved him that much with my wit, charm and good looks. bahahaha. An old co-worker from MCI contacted me recently. He’s always had the hots for me and we seriously got along very, very well. Like really well. Also got another email off of one of my dating sites from a guy my age stationed here at Luke AFB of all places. That’s only 15 min. from my house. He actually sent me a very nice email and kind of a cutie too. Maybe I’ll keep them all in categories and rotate them. I’ll use one for banging on the side, one to take me out all the time and maybe one I’ll take seriously. LOL

  3. Cindy Says:

    That sounds like a plan. I just watched the first 2 episodes of Sex & the city – the first one where Carrie “has sex like a man”. Love those first episodes!

  4. Martini Girl Says:

    Oh that was a great episode – wasn’t that the one where she hooked up with some guy and used him to satisfy her by giving her orgasms and then not returning the favor by saying she had to go somewhere? lol I think turning the tables on men can be a good thing – then they really see how it feels.

  5. Cindy Says:

    Yes – that is it. She actually says she has to go back to work…she works from home?! They typically don’t like it when the tables are turned on them.

    It all goes back to my theory about why men are jackholes at work: they don’t get to wear the pants at home because first women didn’t get the wear them at home…craziness.

  6. Liz Says:

    I say date like crazy girl. Have some fun!

  7. Martini Girl Says:

    heh heh I was going to say didn’t she say she had to go to work??? That was fucking funny.

    No, they sure don’t and they need to get them turned more often in my opinion.

    Your final statement cracks me up too. bahahaha. And I loved that you used one of my words… jackholes. LOL

  8. Martini Girl Says:

    Cindy, you are cracking me up. You need to come back out to Arizona and see me!

    Liz, thanks.

  9. Cindy Says:

    Well, it is much cheaper now that the ‘rents moved from that area…of course I think SouthWest started flying between after they left…mmm.


Leave a Reply

