My Creative Knack

Well if you know me you know I love Halloween.  I love everything about it.  The sights, smells, candy, the colors, costumes, weather, the kiddies… everything. 
 
Once in a blue moon I like to have a small intimate gathering – not every year but once in awhile I’ll invite a small circle of friends over and I usually go all out making them dinner, drinks, music, sometimes movies and some good old fashioned socializing.  I haven’t had one in awhile and well that’s because of my situation.  Just don’t really have a lot a funds.  Not that you really need a lot but I like to go all out for my guests.  I even get them all goody bags with little gifts and such.
 
I’ll change it up each time, one year I had invited a few of my “coupled” friends over – I was the only single.  heh.  Kind of a dumb move now that I think about it, I should have required each couple to bring a single male friend!  I’ll remember that next time.  We didn’t do costumes, just a gathering where I served them dinner and drinks, had the house decorated and then we did a scary movie marathon.  It was nice.
 
One year I did come as your favorite killer.  Heh, that was fun.  I decorated my house with some fun movie themed stuff.  Like in the bathroom I had it all done up like the Shining where I had Redrum written in lipstick on the wall the opposite side of the mirror.  I taped up sheets of paper with the various typed out styles of “all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy” and stuff like that.
 
Then I did a “Witches ball” and invited women only.  The only costume requirement was some sort of witches hat.  We did dinner, drinks, a few fun activities but mostly just listening to the music in the background, drinking and totally gabbing.  I went all out with the witch theme and did some really cute stuff.  It was great fun.  It was such a success that most of them asked if I was going to do it again the following year and I did since they all liked it so much.
 
I like the smaller get togethers with people I know rather than the big loud and crowded parties.  They are just more intimate, relaxing and enjoyable.  I have been longing to do it again but instead my friend and her husband are going to do one now.  I have to laugh because when I told her my costume I suggested she do a Gangsters and Cops themed party.  She loved it and is now all into it full on and asking my help.
 
I actually can’t wait to help her.  I LOVE doing creative things like this.  I’m pretty good at coming up with the themed music, ideas for decorations, fun things to do with the guests and things to get them.  How to make the food fun and so on.  I always get lots of compliments on how good I am at that sort of thing.  Hell even Vox complimented me on it and it was she who asked me to help her with the election party. 
 
Maybe something like this is my calling.  Maybe I’m in the wrong line of work.  Maybe I need to work in advertising or marketing or maybe some sort of professional party planner.   Hmmm….
2 Responses to “My Creative Knack”

  1. Cindy Says:

    That actually sounds perfect for you! Lori the Party Planner extraordinaire! You also did your mermaid trips too – complete with alter-ego names. Too fun.

    Some friends usually throw a HUGE halloween bash but I don’t know many people and I believe the hostess hates me but we get invited because I was friends with her hubby…She avoids us and acts like she has other things to attend to. um, every year.

    I too prefer the smaller gatherings. In bigger groups, I’m usually worried I’m missing out on great conversation – though that sometimes happens even with another couple…

    Go for it, chica!

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    Sounds like she is jealous because you are friends with her hubby. Oh well, she needs to get over it. You should go and be all overly friendly to her “HI! Oh fabulous party!! Thanks for having us!’ LOL that would be funny just to see her uncomfortable face with that.

    Looking forward to the get togehter myself actually. Should be light and fun.


Leave a Reply

