Is it Live or is it Memorex?

Started talking with a new guy from one of my dating sites.  We’ll call him Maverick.  We sent a few emails back and forth and right away he impressed me because he is one of the few that actually takes the time to write a decent email.  Also in his email, it was obvious he was attentive and took the time to read my profile – every inch of it.  I notice things like that and I like it.
 
We moved over to chat and I have to say it was a really, really good conversation.  Our conversation lasted 3 and a half hours.  He was charming, funny, very nice and we seemed to have a lot in common.  He’s in his 30’s and divorced with two kiddies.  He’s been in the reserves for 13 years and did a tour in Iraq.  He also has a Civil Service job.  Originally from New Jersey and cute.  And…. he’s a Republican.  ooooooo  ahhhhhh
 
I did give him my phone number and he said he was going to call the next evening.  That evening he didn’t call but I logged on to my IM and he left a few messages saying he was at one of his kids games and forgot to put my number in his phone and for me to call him.  Well of course it was too late by the time I logged on and saw that.
 
So he called me tonight.  We talked on the phone for three hours.  Wow.  I haven’t done that with a first time phone call with anyone before.  It was nice.  We didn’t have any problems with things to talk about.  It was interesting, light and fun.  Nothing too heavy.  Nothing way out there.  Nothing out of line.  He was a gentleman the entire conversation with some light PG flirting.  Perfect!  I sooooo appreciate that more than you men know.  Even if you are thinking the most piggish thoughts, I still appreciate it when you behave.  We laughed and learned things about each other.  The guy seemed absolutely… well… normal.  He seemed sincere, honest, down to earth, fun, very nice and I’ll say it again, normal.  All of this is good of course.  
  
I then was telling him that I did have to end the call as I was starting to get sleepy since it was getting very late.  With that he came out and asked me if I would like to do something with him tomorrow night.  It was very nice the way he asked.  I can’t describe it, it was really sincere and serious.  I told him since he had his kids this weekend I didn’t want to take away from his time with them.  He said that wasn’t a problem since he was going to be doing stuff with them all day and in the evening they were going to see their grandparents.  I asked him what he wanted to do and he started thinking out loud and it was obvious he hadn’t planned that far out yet.  I couldn’t help smiling at this because all the guy was thinking about was just making sure he asked me out and hadn’t even thought about what we would do.  Cute.  I told him, “Tell you what, why don’t you take some time to think about it tomorrow and then give me a call and let me know what we are doing.”  He said ok and asked me what time I get up so that he didn’t call too early and wake me.  I’m loving his thoughtfulness and manners.  I told him I’ll probably sleep in a bit but to call whenever he likes.  If I don’t answer, then to just leave a message on my machine and I’ll call him back.
 
I hung up and was smiling.  I was thinking what a really nice guy and cute and interesting and…… wait.  Wait. Wait. Wait.  Who is this guy really?  What is he hiding?  What was true and what was lies?  Is this live or is it Memorex?  So yeah, I started to get upset with myself for getting excited.  For getting caught up in it.  Something has to be wrong.  What’s the catch?  There has to be a catch.  
  
Then I went over the conversation again in my head.  I don’t know.  He seemed genuinely interested in me with the questions he asked.  I can tell he is very attracted to me (or my pictures anyway) and he said he really enjoyed our conversation.  I don’t know.  I’m just more gaurded these days.
  
I do look forward to meeting him and going out.  It honestly is the first date in a long time that I really and truly want to go on.  I’m curious to see where this could go.  At the same time, I will be very guarded.  
  
Yes, I’m over analyzing it.  I’m a J personality and a Virgo.  What can I say.
4 Responses to “Is it Live or is it Memorex?”

  1. Lincoln Says:

    Don’t overanalyze, just have fun and go with the flow. As you get to see him in person you’ll start having a better idea of his personality and who he is really. 🙂 But in the meantime, have fun! 😀

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    Lincoln,
    I know you are right. I just need to have fun.

  3. Barbi Says:

    Linc you are 100% right! Martini Girl just have a good time and dont think too far in advance. Stay in the moment and enjoy it. I hope you have a great, find a wonderful man, and live happily ever after! I will be waiting for details!

  4. Cindy Says:

    I concur with Lincoln!

    I think Hubster and I talked on the phone for about 3-4 hours several nights before he asked me out. We knew we had much in common to start off before you get emotionally involved.


Leave a Reply

