Oooooo…. Something Different

You know, I’m very surprised I never thought of this before for meeting people – meetup.com.  A place that organizes tons and tons and tons of groups with various topics, interests, etc.  Like little social clubs if you will.  I had seen this advertised before but didn’t know what it was.  Now what I like about this is that it not only has tons of singles groups but regular type stuff too.  Anything and everything from book clubs, to movie watcher clubs to hiking, to cooking, to clothes swapping to networking to just anything and everything.  All you have to do is pop in your zip code and poof, you get the listings of everything in your area.  There are zillions in the Phoenix and surrounding areas alone – even tons on my side of town.  I came across some reeaall intereteresting ones.
 
So… maybe I can meet some NORMAL acting men for once and in real life instead of over the damn internet who may share some common interests with me.  Awesome.  Now I don’t know what the finances would be with this sort of thing.  I saw one that had dues but I don’t know if all of them do or not.  I have to investigate this some more.
 
This one looks really cool however this would cost money obviously to do the traveling.  Rats!  Because I LOVE to travel and I should have been doing this one when I had my career.
 
Now there are a few for toastmasters.  Interesting.  I’m pretty decent at public speaking since I was a professional trainer but nothing like brushing that up some more right?  Not to mention there would be some nice professional men going to this.
 
There are some career networking ones I’d be interested in.  I’m even thinking of a beginning hikers club.  I like that it would be for beginners like me and I’m guessing lots of men would be in this one as well as the networking ones.  😉  Of course there are some for Republicans too.  More men than women would be in this group I assume.  Me likey. 
 
Now the reeeaaalllyy interesting one I stumbled on is called MEOW (Men Enjoying Older Women).  hee hee hee.  I’m going to join that one for sure.  Me likey men in their 30’s. 
 
I have no idea if these types of meetups are good or bad.  It’s possible they could really suck or be a total blast.  Or maybe it just depends on each particular group.  Who knows.  Anyone ever join a meetup group?
 
I’m surprised they don’t have one for BBW’s and their admirers club for dating.  Maybe I should start that one because anyone can start these things.  Hmmmmmm…….. I think that just might be something I would really like doing, not to mention meeting men who really like the thick, plus sized, curvy and cute girls like me.  Hmmmm….. yes I’m liking this idea more and more.  I may just do it.  But first I need to join a few of these things and see what works and what doesn’t.  Which ones are good and which ones stink.  See how they are organized, etc. etc.  I am so falling in love with this brilliant idea of mine.  Smiling huge in fact.  Ahh… but I need to be patient and do some investigating and testing first. 
 
Stay tuned sports fans.
3 Responses to “Oooooo…. Something Different”

  1. Liz Says:

    These sound fun. You’ll have to tell me how these are if you join them. MEOW? Now that is a clever name. Let me know how that one goes too. I think you should totally start the one for curvy women!! You are so creative and organized and I think something like this would be right up your alley.

  2. Liz Says:

    I left a bunch of comments in here. I guess I should just email ya.

  3. Martini Girl Says:

    I’m seriously thinking of doing it. Can’t right now though but I am certainly going to. For some reason it excites me and I think it would be a lot of fun. There is definitely people out there that would certainly join this.


Leave a Reply

