Am I Over Christmas?

I’m honestly tired and bored of Christmas.  Wow, I never in a million years thought I would say or feel that way.  It seems like that feeling has been there for a while for me and every year seems to get more and more stronger.
 
I don’t know what it is really.  I just seem to have burn out on it.  A year isn’t enough time to forget about the previous year to appreciate it.  I’m just tired of the same movies on TV over and over.  The same songs drilled into you from the radio stations, the stores and every other place of business you set foot in. 
 
I ALWAYS have my Christmas cards done and mailed out the day after Thanksgiving.  This year though, I haven’t even printed out the envelopes or even gotten Christmas stamps.  I have the cards.  They are just sitting here on the desk, mocking me. 
 
Another tell tale sign…. I usually put up my tree and decorations the day after Thanksgiving as well.  Yeah, not done this year.  Fail.  When ever I have thought about it and how I haven’t done it, I wonder if I should just skip it altogether this year.  I’m definitely not going to put out my outside lights this year.  I need to save on my electric bill.
 
The older I get the more it feels like a hassle.  Usually once I get everything done I do appreciate it.  But it’s getting harder and harder to even attempt it though.  I honestly have Christmas burn out.  How terrible of a person am I? 
2 Responses to “Am I Over Christmas?”

  1. Cindy Says:

    Yeah, I’m with ya. It’s just gotten so commercialized.

    I don’t believe we put up a tree last year because I don’t trust my puppy…she’ll be 2 Dec 15 this year but still loves to chew everything!

    And yes, once it’s all up, it is nice to enjoy and makes things more Christmassy. But I’m thinking bah hum bug this year.

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    You are ahead of me girl. I haven’t even begun this year. So very late. So want to skip the entire holiday this year. gah.


Leave a Reply

