Time… Oh How It Ticks Away

In the last few years I have been fascinated by the concept of time. 
 
At one point, before I got laid off, I was thinking about a particular wall in my living room and how I wanted to decorate it.  I have vaulted ceilings so two of my walls are huge and roomy.  I was planning on painting the room and thinking of a decorating theme.  For some reason I kept going back to a “time” theme.  I couldn’t shake it.  I had this idea of putting up various types of clocks on the wall and on the mini shelves.  Different colors, sizes, styles. 
 
I got the idea from a decorating magazine and it honestly was really neat.  I couldn’t get rid of the idea.  I even thought of stenciling a cool quote or two on the wall about time to go with it.  I was also planning some great photos of me, family and friends in various pretty picture frames on the shelves too.
 
Of course I never got to re-do my living room and the walls are still bare and unpainted.  This is due to the lay off and time being unemployed.  I still plan to finish it sooner or later if I can make a decent paycheck again.  Maybe next years tax return.  I already have quite a few of the knick knacks to hang, waiting in the closet.
 
I’m still fascinated by time and for some reason it is seriously mocking me these days.  I have just started paying attention again and I feel as if I have wasted a lot of it.  I look at what has happened to my career, achievements (or lack there of), my education, my weight, my singleness, dating, how lack of finances has stopped things for me and everything else under the sun. 
 
I hear a constant ticking in my ear lately and it seems to get louder.  Maybe that is why I have felt anxiety lately.  All I know is I am feeling some urgency and time to start looking at things more closely.  Maybe I shouldn’t wait to decorate that wall.  I should get it done so that I have that reminder that we shouldn’t put things off, that we should do them now.  The quotes below are really good as we always seem to put off the best life for ourselves.

  • Enjoy yourself.  It’s later than you think.  ~Chinese Proverb
  • Go for it now.  The future is promised to no one.  ~Wayne Dyer
  • Every man dies.  Not every man really lives.  ~Braveheart
  • As you grow older, you’ll find the only things you regret are the things you didn’t do.  ~Zachary Scott
  • Why always “not yet”?  Do flowers in spring say “not yet”?  ~Norman Douglas
  • For a long time it had seemed to me that life was about to begin – real life.  But there was always some obstacle in the way.  Something to be got through first, some unfinished business, time still to be served, a debt to be paid.  Then life would begin.  At last it dawned on me that these obstacles were my life.  ~Fr. Alfred D’Souza
  • To always be intending to live a new life, but never find time to set about it – this is as if a man should put off eating and drinking from one day to another till he be starved and destroyed.  ~Walter Scott
  • To change one’s life:  Start immediately.  Do it flamboyantly.  No exceptions.  ~William James
  • You live longer once you realize that any time spent being unhappy is wasted.  ~Ruth E. Renkl
  • You may delay, but time will not.  ~Benjamin Franklin
  • We cannot waste time.  We can only waste ourselves.  ~George M. Adams
  • How we spend our days is, of course, how we spend our lives.  ~Annie Dillard, The Writing Life
  • Contemplation often makes life miserable.  We should act more, think less, and stop watching ourselves live.  ~Nicolas de Chamfort
  • I held a moment in my hand, brilliant as a star, fragile as a flower, a tiny sliver of one hour.  I dripped it carelessly, Ah!  I didn’t know, I held opportunity.  ~Hazel Lee
  • Life is always walking up to us and saying, “Come on in, the living’s fine,” and what do we do?  Back off and take its picture.  ~Russell Baker
  • I think I don’t regret a single ‘excess’ of my responsive youth – I only regret, in my chilled age, certain occasions and possibilities I didn’t embrace.  ~Henry James
  • Every day is an opportunity to make a new happy ending.  ~Author Unknown
  • Now is the time to get drunk!  To stop being the martyred slaves of time, to get absolutely drunk – on wine, poetry, or on virtue, as you please.  ~Charles Baudelaire, “Enivrez-vous,” Paris Spleen, 1869
  • Later never exists.  ~Author Unknown
  • I wasted time, and now doth time waste me.  ~William Shakespeare
  • We do not do what we want and yet we are responsible for what we are – that is the fact.  ~Jean Paul Sartre, Situations, 1939
  • Regret for the things we did can be tempered by time; it is regret for the things we did not do that is inconsolable.  ~Sydney J. Harris
  • How did it get so late so soon?
    It’s night before it’s afternoon.
    December is here before it’s June.
    My goodness how the time has flewn.
    How did it get so late so soon?
    ~Dr. Seuss
  • Waste your money and you’re only out of money, but waste your time and you’ve lost a part of your life.  ~Michael Leboeuf
  • So much of our time is preparation, so much is routine, and so much retrospect, that the path of each man’s genius contracts itself to a very few hours.  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson
2 Responses to “Time… Oh How It Ticks Away”

  1. cindy Says:

    Go for it. Paint is one of the most inexpensive things you can do to decorate.

    Have you been to etsy.com? There are crafters that make wall decals. One even has Carpe Diem – very appropriate for your project. You can have them make it larger or smaller than their concept and have your pick of 35 colors.

    I like theirs for the laundry room: I like it dirty…will have to get that.

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    I’ll have to do one of these days soon for sure. “I like it dirty” that is too cute! I’ll have to try that one myself. That would be cute to stencil in my little laundry room. It’s so tiny though.


Leave a Reply

