To Have Not To Hold

Ray of Light was seriously the best album that Madonna ever put out.  I’ve liked some of her older ones and some recent ones – Confessions on a Dance Floor is pretty damn good, but this one by far was the best work she’s ever done.  Every single song is fantastic and it’s hard to pick a favorite from Ray of Light.  Today I give you, To Have Not to Hold… 
 

[Youtube=”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gX3uuSu6DEM”%5D

 
To have and not to hold
So hot, yet so cold
My heart is in your hand
And yet you never stand
Close enough for me to have my way

To love but not to keep
To laugh, not to weep
Your eyes, they go right through
And yet you never do
Anything to make me want to stay

Chorus:

Like a moth to a flame
Only I am to blame
Ba ba da ba ba ba
What can I do?
Ba ba da ba ba ba
I go straight to you
Ba ba da ba ba ba
I’ve been told
You’re to have, not to hold

To look but not to see
To kiss but never be
The object of your desire
I’m walking on a wire
And there’s no one at all
To break my fall

(chorus)

You’re to have, not to hold
You’re to have, not to hold

(chorus)

You’re to have, not to hold
You’re to have, not to hold
You’re to have, not to hold
To break my heart

2 Responses to “To Have Not To Hold”

  1. Tracy Says:

    My sister has been a fan of hers since she came on the scene. I’ve really liked a handful or so of her songs over the years, but honestly her wacked out liberal-ness prevents me from worshipping her like too many others do. That being said, the only CD of hers that I have ever purchased was Ray of Light. It proved helpful when I was going through a break-up (along with an awakening) at the time it was released. I played Ray of Light, Frozen, and the Power of Goodbye a lot.

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    Yeah I have a love/hate relationship with Madonna. Some of her music, videos and fashion I’m really in love with. But her assinine politics and hollier than thou diva attitude bug the crap out of me.


Leave a Reply

