In a Job Far, Far Away…

I have been in a training class all week getting certified in a coaching training program with my peers and boss.  Today it went round and round if we should offer to video tape the participants when we later train supervisors in their role-plays in this program.  We kept debating.  On one side people hate it.  On the other side, is it effective even if uncomfortable.  So we thought, well let’s tape one of us first to see how it goes.  Of course no one wants to see themselves on video.  I finally volunteered.  The rest of the class left briefly while myself and the newest member of our team stayed in the room to use our newly trained skills in a role-play.

I played the “coach” role.  I have to say, I kicked ass.  It was pretty awesome.  But of course this kind of thing isn’t new to me.  I mean I’ve been through training like this since 91 and been a Training manager and sales supervisor that has had to coach employees many times before.  So this kind of thing came naturally to me due to my experience.  I am working for a company that is barely scratching the surface of effective coaching.

Later when the group came back in and watched they were all blown away and complimenting me, even the contracted trainer of the program who flew in to train us.  Even my boss was giving me major compliments and he NEVER does that.  All this time I know he has thought I was a difficult moron of an employee in his eyes since I have reported to him.  They were just in awe and I’m not exaggerating.  I have been on this team for two and half years and all of my experience and ideas and creativity are constantly shot down.  Especially by him and the senior trainer.

It felt good to finally show off one of my talents in front of the whole team and be recognized for it and not be told, “we don’t do it like that here” or him taking my ideas and changing them to be HIS way.  Not to mention the major anal micromanaging.  My boss seemed almost blown away and shocked.  I wanted to say so bad, once upon a time in a job far, far away I had your job, and I was better at it.  If it wasn’t for the economy, I’d still be doing it.

4 Responses to “In a Job Far, Far Away…”

  1. Dennis Says:

    I knew you would be goood at it. I hope you’re now not seen as a threat to the existing trainer. Best of luck.

    Cindy and I have been talking about you lately.

  2. Martini Girl Says:

    Hey thanks Dennis. That really, really means a lot to me. How are you and Cindy doing these days? I think about you both also.

  3. Cindy Says:

    sent a few items from your amazon wish list- should be arriving this week for your bd on Monday, right?!

  4. Martini Girl Says:

    I did get three things in the mail from amazon already but haven’t opened them yet. I was thinking I would wait till my birthday on Monday to open them. I think my boyfriend may have gotten me some things too but couldn’t be sure so I don’t know if the packages are from you or him. ha! I won’t know till I open them. But thank you so much for remembering my birthday Cindy. You and Dennis are so good to me. You always seem to do nice things around the times I need it the most too like you have esp or something. I’ll leave another comment or post once I open the items.


Leave a Reply

